Deleting a Virtual Server

To delete a virtual server, use the vserver delete command. If the virtual server is associated with one or more virtual interfaces, one or more volumes, or both, the command prompts you for confirmation before running. If you confirm, the command deletes all associated virtual interfaces and volumes as well as the virtual server.

To ensure the clean deletion of a virtual server, it is recommended that you perform the following steps:

  1. Disable snapshots and mirror replications for all volumes. See “Modifying a Volume” and “Modifying a Mirror” for details.

  2. Delete all volumes on the virtual server that is to be deleted. See “Deleting a Volume” for details.

  3. Delete the virtual server.

  4. Reenable snapshots and mirror replications for all volumes. See “Modifying a Volume” and “Modifying a Mirror” for details.

Note:

If a virtual server that is configured to use Kerberos is deleted, or is changed to use a different Service Principal Name (SPN), its original service principal is not automatically deleted from or disabled in the Kerberos realm. If you no longer need the service principal, it is recommended that you manually delete or disable the principal. This requires the Kerberos realm administrator's user name and password.

The following example deletes a virtual server named vs1:

node::> vserver delete -vserver-name vs1